One week ago we were all anxiously waiting to cast our vote and learn the outcome of the race that was the topic of conversation for months. The candidates were not liked by many and most conversation focused on scandal over controversy. However, the race was ending. We were electing our next president. Would it be Republican Donald Trump or Democrat Hillary Clinton?

Winning 306 electoral votes to Hillary’s 232, President-Elect Donald Trump won the election. However, he did not receive the popular vote. Hillary Clinton won 48% of the vote to Donald’s 47%. The remaining 5% went to third party candidates.

As expected, the 10 Minnesota electoral votes went to Democrat, Hillary Clinton. Also, the majority of house seats went to democratic candidates, 5 districts out of the 8. This is the 11th election in a row that the state has voted blue. Most importantly, Minnesota was the state with the most voters in this election. 74% of eligible Minnesotan voters visited the polls last Tuesday.

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet” data-lang=”en”><p lang=”en” dir=”ltr”>Dear other states,<br><br>Please actually vote. <br><br>Sincerely, <br>Minnesota (#1) <a href=””></a></p>&mdash; Indignant Minnesotan (@IndignantMN) <a href=”″>November 11, 2016</a></blockquote>

In Minnesota, the results were as follows:


Hillary Clinton: 47%

Donald Trump: 45%

Gary Johnson:4%

Evan McMullin:2%

Jill Stein: 1%

Dan Vacek: 0.4%

Darrell Castle: 0.1%

Alyson Kennedy: 0.1%

Rocky De La Fuente: 0.1%


There were no Senate races this election.


District 1:

Tim Walz (D): 50% (169,076)

Jim Hagedorn (R): 50% (166,527)

District 2:

        Jason Lewis (R): 47% (174,030)

Angie Craig (D): 45% (167,071)

Paula Overby (I): 8% (28,845)

District 3:

         Erik Paulsen (R): 57% (223,075)

Terri Bonoff (D): 43% (169,238)

District 4:

     Betty McCollum (D): 58% (202, 558)

Greg Ryan (R): 34% (120, 871)

Susan Pendergast Sindt (LMN): (27,109)

District 5:

         Keith Ellison (D): 69% (249,957)

Frank Drake (R): 22% (80, 660)

Dennis Schuller (LMN): 9% (30,759)

District 6:

  Tom Emmer (R): 66% (235,384)

David Snyder (D): 34% (123,012)

District 7:

Collin Peterson (D): 53% (173,571)

Dave Hughes (R): 47% (156,950)

District 8:

Rick Nolan (D): 50% (179,106) 

Stewart Mills (R): 50% 177, 095